Stack Awards: American Chordata

by Stine Fantoft Berg in September 2016

Last year’s award for Best Original Fiction went to a newcomer of 2015, the New York-based literary magazine American Chordata, for publishing fresh, distinctive voices from fantastic new writers.

With this year’s Stack awards now open for entries, we check in with editor Ben Yarling (above, as he accepts his award via video from New York) to learn what the American Chordata team has been up to since the win, and who they think should pick up their award this year.


Where is your Stack Award now?
I recently moved into a very small, windowless temporary room and sent everything I owned to a storage unit except some clothes, six books, and – yep – our Stack Award. I had it set up all pretty in my old place, but here it is in its current habitat (above).


What have you been doing since last year’s awards?
We Published issues Two and Three (above).


Gained some killer new editors, Liza Sweeney, Rachel Stuart and Melanie Tortoroli.


Registered as a nonprofit organisation, which I think will open up a lot of opportunities.


Spent way too much time building this wholesale web shop for new stockists to order discounted bundles for resale.


Massively expanded our print run, a portion of which currently lives in my closet.


And if not you, which magazine should win Best Original Fiction this year?
I’m sure I’m forgetting some big ones, but I’ve definitely loved stories I read this year in The White Review, Structo, The Lifted Brow, and Hotdog. There’s so much great fiction being published!

Are you a publisher of great fiction? Head over to our awards page for all you need to know about taking part in this year’s awards.

Close Icon

Join our magazine club! Subscribe to Stack and every month we'll pick a different independent title and deliver it to your door. You never know what you'll get next...

Subscribe now